Spread the love

Om Birla will be succeeding Sumitra Mahajan

Two-time BJP MP from Rajasthan Om Birla will be the new Speaker of the Lok Sabha, after he was nominated by the ruling NDA for the post.

Mr. Birla has been a three-time MLA in the Rajasthan Assembly and represents the Kota-Boondi constituency in the Lok Sabha. The proposal for his name will be moved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and will be supported by Sukhbir Singh Badal of the Akali Dal and Arvind Sawant of the Shiv Sena.

While it is the norm for experienced MPs to be considered for the position of Speaker, it will not be the first time that a second-term MP will be appointed to the post. Before this, Manohar Joshi of the Shiv Sena was appointed Speaker in his first term in the Lok Sabha while the late Speaker G.M.C. Balayogi of the TDP got the position in his second term.


Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.