Spread the love

India witnessed the creation of history on August 5, 2019, when Union Home Minister Amit Shah announced the complete integration of Jammu and Kashmir into India by removing the special status enjoyed by the state since 1947. Shah, the trusted lieutenant of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, announced in Parliament that Article 370, which gave Jammu and Kashmir the power to have its own Constitution, will no longer define the state’s relation with India.

With the Modi government recommending that Article 370 be scrapped and revoking the 1954 Presidential proclamation which means that Article 35A no longer exists, the state’s relation with rest of India has undergone a dramatic and earth-shattering change. Along with Article 370 and 35A being consigned to the dustbins, Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories. Jammu and Kashmir will be a Union Territory with a legislature but Ladakh will have no provision.

Shah announced during the debate on Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019 in the Rajya Sabha that the UT will be made a state once again after the security situation improves. The Rajya Sabha passed the Bill with 125 MPs voting in favour and 61 against with one member abstaining even though the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance does not enjoy a majority in the House.


Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.