Early Spotify Investor Contributes
Spread the love

116 seats in 13 states and 2 Union Territories to go to polls in this phase.

Polling underway for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections for 116 constituencies spread over 13 states and 2 Union Territories. Single phase polling is being held for 26 parliamentary constituencies of Gujarat and 20 constituencies of Kerala.

Voting is also being held for 14 seats each in Maharashtra and Karnataka; 10 in Uttar Pradesh; seven in Chhattisgarh; six in Odisha; five each in Bihar and West Bengal; four in Assam; two in Goa; one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura. Besides, by polls for 4 assembly seats in Gujarat and 3 in Goa is also being held simultaneously. 

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful conduct of polls. In Gujarat, 371 candidates are in the fray for Lok Sabha elections while 45 candidates are contesting assembly by-polls. Prominent candidates whose fate will be decided are BJP President Amit Shah, former Union Ministers Mansukh Vasava, Mohan Kundariya and Bharatsinh Solanki.   

Kerala is also going for single phase polling. 227 candidates including 23 women are in the fray. Prominent among them are Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Union Minister KJ Alphonse, Shashi Tharoor, K Rajasekharan, Suresh Gopi and K Surendran.

 In Maharashtra, 249 candidates, including 19 women are contesting in this phase. High-profile seats going to the polls are Baramati where from NCP leader Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule is seeking re-election. Senior Congress leader Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil’s son Dr. Sujay Vikhe-Patil is contesting on a BJP ticket from Ahmednagar. In Raigad seat, Shiv Sena’s Anant Geete and NCP’s Sunil Tatkare are pitted against each other. 

In Goa, 12 candidates are in the fray for Lok Sabha elections, while 18 nominees are contesting for Assembly seats. In Uttar Pradesh, constituencies going to polls in this phase include Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Bareilly and Pilibhit. 120 candidates including 14 women are in the fray. Prominent among them are Mulayam Singh Yadav, Santosh Gangwar, Jaya Prada, Varun Gandhi, Shivpal Yadav and Ajam Khan.

In Bihar amidst tight security arrangements polling is underway in five constituencies Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura and Khagaria. Over 89 lakh electorates will decide political fortune of 82 candidates including five women. In Assam, polling is being held in Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar Parliamentary constituencies. 

In Chhattisgarh, Lok Sabha polls will be concluded in the state with this phase. 123 candidates are in the fray for seven constituencies. In Odisha, six Lok Sabha seats and 42 assembly constituencies are going to polls in this phase. 

In West Bengal peaceful voting is on in five Parliamentary seats amidst tight security. Over 80 lakhs electorates will decide the political fates of 61 candidates in three seats. In Jammu  & Kashmir, voting is taking place for Anantnag district in the first of the three phase polling in the Anantnag constituency. 

In an unprecedented scenario, Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency is going to polls in three phases covering 04 districts Anantnag, Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama. The security grid has been tightened to provide fool proof security for the polls. Voting will end at 4 p.m.


Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.